Tasty Indian sauce recipe

There are days, especially Thursdays, when I wish there was some ready-made food in the refrigerator. But usually I try not to buy frozen food and serve something fresh to my family everyday. I have some tricks to make my life simple. I make two or three sauces and keep them bottled in the fridge and also chop all the vegetables over the weekend. My go-to meals are usually Indian curries served with rice or bread. Here’s a recipe that I have for a very tasty sauce for an Indian curry. I make this over the weekend and I use it in a vegetable, chicken, egg or shrimp curry during the week.

Ingredients:
Onions – 2
Tomatoes – 4
Garlic – 4 or 5 cloves
Ginger – 1 inch
Vegetable oil

Roughly chop all the ingredients. Don’t worry about chopping them finely since we are going to puree them in a food processor.

Method:
– Heat some oil in a pan.
– Add onions and saute till light brown.
– Add ginger and garlic and saute for half a minute.
– Add tomatoes and cook for about 2-3 mins.
– Add this to the food processor and grind everything. Your sauce is ready!

You could add coriander leaves to this sauce before it goes into the food processor. But I usually use chopped coriander leaves for garnishing my dish at the end.

When you use this sauce to make a curry, heat a pan with very little oil and add the sauce to it. Let it cook for about 10 mins. Add turmeric powder, red chili powder (to taste), garam masala, salt and sugar. Let this cook for another 2-3 mins. Add boiled eggs or chicken to it to make a tasty curry.

2 thoughts on “Tasty Indian sauce recipe

Leave a Reply

